Pages

Saturday, August 5, 2017

Cocktails and Dreams Blog Tour + Giveaway



A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.
I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person… 
Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime.
Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and begins to plan a future she can be excited about.
But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams? 
See inside for a delicious cocktail recipe and book club questions!

Excerpt:

In some ways, Jen was ageless, because she’d never followed fads or fashions. Throughout the years, her style stayed the same. She always dressed like something out of an old movie, lots of ’50s style dresses and oversized sunglasses. She made an impression. Everyone always asked if she was an artist and she shook her head, eyes wide. I suppose she cut quite the figure of an eccentric, Jen. A middle-aged woman with no husband, no children, raising her superstar sister’s child, and turning up with armfuls of aubergine from her allotment. She hated modernity. The woman still listened to vinyl, on purpose. I tried to get her a phone that did more than just phone people, and she returned it to the shop, trading it in for the simplest one possible. She was frustrating and infinitely loveable, and she’d been there for every tear, every tantrum, every heartbreak and accomplishment since I’d moved in with her. And yet people still seemed to think she was a little strange.
    Once, a few months after I’d moved in, I asked her why she didn’t have any children of her own. She’d stilled, bitten her lip, shook her head as if she was shaking the truth away, and said sometimes that’s just the way things work out. She looked so sad that I never asked her again.
    ‘Good morning, my darling!’ she wiggled her way across the room to kiss my cheek, and handed me a cup of hot water and lemon.
    I shook my head. ‘Jen –’
     She closed her eyes and shook her own head. ‘Detox. Mind and body. Heart and soul.’
    ‘I’m gonna detox my soul with lemon water?’
    She gazed at me, smile in place, glassy blue eyes not faltering. ‘Well, can you think of a better place to start?’
    ‘Black coffee. Black as my soul. The deepest black coffee, with three sugars and a crushed-up beta blocker.’ I fell into the chair and hugged the mug close. I could feel myself regressing as I sat there, bitching about something I didn’t care about. We both knew I was going to drink the damn hot water and be done with it.
    ‘Someone’s feeling dramatic this morning.’ She patted my hand. ‘Green juice? It’s got mango!’
    ‘Jen.’ I stuck out my lip. ‘Remember the days when I’d come home heartbroken and you’d make me pancakes in the shape of hearts, and smother them in chocolate spread? I miss those days.’
    ‘I’m sure you do,’ she grinned, ‘but chocolate pancakes are for teenagers. Grown-ups get green juice and a talk about their life plans.’
    I took a deep breath, looking out into the garden. My aunt’s garden was her sanctuary, an oasis of colour and life. She loved to take the time and energy to acknowledge each plant, see how it was doing, assess its growth, whether it needed a support or just time to get its act together.
She was doing the same with me.
    ‘Kids are like plants,’ she always used to say. ‘Give them what they need, then let them grow.’
    Used to drive me mental.
    Now, I took my aunt’s quirks as part and parcel of being someone who had taken in a 7-year-old, become responsible for her health, education and wellbeing, and even now, 20 years later, was still cleaning up her messes. She was born to be a mother, so unlike the woman who bore me. Jen was unselfish, giving, measured. She wasn’t afraid to be tough, and I’d had more than enough lectures over the years. I’ve always thought the way to raise a loving kid is to instil a deep fear of disappointing their parent. I have always been so grateful to Jen that I never wanted to let her down. She chose me and I never wanted her to regret that decision.




A.L. Michael is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of nine novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, will start with Cocktails and Dreams, released 24th July 2017. She likes to write about sassy females who follow their dreams, and don't take no for an answer.

She is a Creative Therapeutic Facilitator, currently researching the power of creative writing to be helpful in recovering from eating disorders, and believes in the power of writing to heal.

You can find out more about A.L. Michael at (surprisingly) www.almichael.com and on twitter @almichael_



Book Link Amazon: http://amzn.to/2uoBJbf
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/cocktails-and-dreams


Giveaway:

This giveaway is to win a cocktail making giftset and an eCopy of the book. UK only!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


0 comments:

Post a Comment