Click Here For Free Blog Templates!!!
Blogaholic Designs

Pages

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Ties That Bind Detective Madison Knight Series Tour + Giveaway




Ties That Bind
by Carolyn Arnold

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

               GENRE: Mystery, Police Procedural

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 


Series Information
Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, Blue Bloods, Rizzoli & Isles, Women’s Murder Club, and Hawaii Five-O.

Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).


BLURB:

The hunt for a serial killer begins…

Detective Madison Knight concluded the case of a strangled woman an isolated incident. But when another woman’s body is found in a park killed with the same brand of neckties, she realizes they’re dealing with something more serious.

Despite mounting pressure from the sergeant and the chief to close the case even if it means putting an innocent man behind bars, and a partner who is more interested in saving his marriage than stopping a potential serial killer, Madison may have to go it alone if the murderer is going to be stopped.




~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:

Excerpt from chapter 3 of Ties That Bind (Detective Madison Knight series)

HE SAT IN HIS 1995 HONDA CIVIC, sweating profusely. Its air conditioner hadn’t worked for years. The car was a real piece of shit, but perfect for the crappy life he had going. He combed his fingers through his hair and caught his reflection in the rearview mirror.

He lifted his sunglasses to look into his own eyes. They had changed. They were dark, even sinister. He put the shades back in place, rolled his shoulders forward to dislodge the tension in his neck, and took a cleansing breath. With the air came a waft of smoke from the cigarette burning in the car’s ashtray.

He had parked close enough to observe the activity at 36 Bay Street, yet far enough away to be left alone. At least he had hoped so. Cruisers were parked in front of the house, and forty-eight minutes ago a department-issued SUV had pulled to a quick stop.

All this activity because of his work. It was something to be proud of.

He picked up the cigarette and tapped the ash in the tray.

Statistically, the murder itself was nothing special. Another young lady. People would move on. They always did.

It was the city’s thirtieth murder of the year. He was up-to-date on his statistics. But he was always that way; he was a gatherer of facts, of useless information. Maybe someday his fact-finding and attention to detail would prove beneficial.

He wiped his forehead, and sweat trickled from his brow and down his nose. The salty perspiration stung. He winced. His nose was still tender to the touch. That crotchety old man at the bar had a strong right hook.

He rested his eyes for a second, and when he opened them, a Crown Vic had pulled to a stop in front of the house. He straightened up.

A woman of average height—probably about five foot five—with blond hair walked toward the yellow tape. But it wasn’t her looks that captured his interest. It was her determined stride. And something was familiar about her.

He smiled when he realized why.

She was Detective Madison Knight. She had made headlines for putting away the Russian mafia czar, Dimitre Petrov, but the glory hadn’t lasted long. People like Petrov had a reach that extended from behind bars and the rumor was that Petrov had gotten the attorney who had lost his case killed.

He must have hit the bigtime to have Knight on his investigation. An adrenaline rush flowed over him, blanketing him in heat. Energy pulsed in his veins, his heartbeat pounding in his ears. He strained to draw in a satisfying breath.

Tap, tap.

Knuckles rapped against the driver’s-side window.

His heart slowed. His breath shortened. Slowly, he lifted his eyes to look at the source of the intrusion.

A police officer!

Stay calm. Play it cool.

He drew the cigarette to his lips. Damn, his nose hurt so much when he sucked air in that he had to fight crying out in pain. He left the cig perched between his fingers, and the cop motioned for him to put the window down.

“I need you to move your vehicle.”

Thank God for his dark-tinted glasses or maybe the cop would see right through him. “Sure.”

The police officer bent over and peered into the car. “Are you all right, sir?”

Following the officer’s gaze to his unsteady hand holding the cigarette, he forced himself to raise it for another drag. His hand shook the entire way. “Yeah, I’m—” Her lifeless eyes flashed in his mind. He cleared his throat, hoping it would somehow dislodge his recollections. “Sure… I…I’ll get out of your way immediately.”

The cop’s gaze remained fixed on him, eye to eye.

Could he see through him, sunglasses and all? Was his guilt that obvious?

“All units confirm a secured perimeter.” The monotone voice came over the officer’s radio.

The cop turned the volume down without taking his eyes off him. “What happened to your nose?”

What was this uniform out to prove?

He forced another cough and then took yet another drag. He tapped the cigarette ash out the window. The office stepped to the side, but based on the look in his eyes, he wasn’t going anywhere.

He needed to give the cop an answer. His words escaped through gritted teeth. “Bar fight.”

The officer nodded. His eyes condemned him. “I need you to move your car—” he drummed his flattened palm on the roof “—and try to keep yourself out of trouble.”

Too late, Officer. Too late.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interview: 


Meet today’s guest, Carolyn Arnold.


She is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series and has written nearly thirty books. Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark, POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.


Today, she answers a few questions for us and gives us insight into her life and journey as a mystery author.


What motivated you to start writing?


I started as a teenager as a way of dealing with my emotions, and from there I wrote novella-length romances. However, it wasn’t until I was thirty that I wrote my first full-length novel. In fact, I’d been away from writing for thirteen years. Since 2006, though, my life changed and writing’s been a part of my daily life since then.


What keeps you going throughout the writing process?


Writing is something I love to do, but refining a story to publication it is a lot of hard work. What keeps me going is focusing on all the readers who love my books. They are why I keep writing. I want to entertain and inspire people and writing lets me do this.


What is the hardest part of writing?
I love the writing part and even the editing process, but I’d have to say that the later takes a lot more focus, dedication, and hard work. You definitely have to be committed to a project to pay good money for editors and to read and rewrite a manuscript so many times that you lose count.


Please describe your work ethic as an author.


I have always viewed writing as something very important. Even before I made a dime with my writing, it was never a hobby. Once I decided to self-publish, I’ve always approached the industry with the respect and professionalism it deserves, and I have emulated the traditionally published market. Some authors will drink while they write or edit, but you would never catch me doing that!


How do you balance your work as an author with the other aspects of your life?


I have goals and deadlines, but on a daily basis, I go with the flow of life. If I’m stressed or get feeling overwhelmed, I’ll step back and see what needs to be adjusted in my schedule. Walking my beagle Max or taking him to the dog park, or visiting a beach (during the summer) helps me to step away and clear my mind as well. And, of course, I always make time to catch up with friends.


Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:

And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.




AUTHOR Bio and Links:

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.
Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.
Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.
She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.
Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:
Website - http://carolynarnold.net/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Carolyn_Arnold
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolynArnold
And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.

Amazon - http://getbook.at/Ties-that-Bind
Barnes & Noble - http://www.anrdoezrs.net/links/7992314/type/dlg/http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ties-that-bind-carolyn-arnold/1103504711
Kobo - http://store.kobobooks.com/Search/Query?fcmedia=Book&query=9781458072252
Apple - https://geo.itunes.apple.com/ca/book/ties-that-bind/id441096550?mt=11&at=1001l5GE
Google Play - https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=c82KCwAAQBAJ


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY: 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


2 comments: